History & Purpose

The National Center for Pre-Faculty Development was conceptualized after reflecting with BNGAP members at the 10th Anniversary Celebration on BNGAPs next innovation to diversity academic medicine.   Launched July 1, 2020 the Center provides a new formal structure to guide and lead academic health centers, national organizations, and community-based organizations as they collectively focus on Pre-Faculty Development as a means to diversifying academia.  The concept of Pre-Faculty Development is defined as “providing trainees with foundational self-efficacy, knowledge, skills, and experiences to be successfully appointed, and eventually promoted and tenured within an academic institution (Sánchez JP and Williams V, 2019.)”

Resources provided by the center to member entities include:

  • Access to Academic Career Development Seminars and webinars to help diverse trainees (from college student level to fellows) gain greater awareness of, interest in, and preparedness for academic careers.
  • Opportunities for member entities to post ads in the BNGAP monthly e-Newsletter related to career, employment, and funding opportunities and upcoming events. Additionally, they can highlight their trainees, staff, and faculty who are leading pre-faculty development efforts.
  • Enrollment in the Academic Medicine Writing Fellowship for Tier 2 and Tier 3 members.  The fellowship guides fellows in publishing medical education content.
  • Heightened Visibility as a pre-faculty development leader.
  • Networking opportunities with other trainees, faculty, and administrators dedicated to diversifying academic medicine through pre-faculty development.
  • Leadership development for trainees, faculty and administrators so that they may become for effective leaders of pre-faculty development at their institution, and on the regional and national levels.

If you are interested in becoming a member of the National Center for Pre-Faculty Development please contact J.P. Sánchez MD, MPH, President, BNGAP Inc. at BNGAPinc@gmail.com

Our Community

The 25 2020 – 2021 Center Leaders and Logos  (FY21)

The 25 Center Leaders and Logos (FY22)  

Albany Medical College

Asian Pacific American Medical Student Association

Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa

Eastern Virginia Medical School

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

Kansas Health Science Center

Latino Medical Student Association

Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine 

Medical Student Pride Alliance

McGovern Medical School

New York Medical College Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Oklahoma University College of Medicine

Planned Parenthood

Pritzker School of Medicine, The University of Chicago

Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine – Southern Utah Campus

School of Medicine – Universidad Central del Caribe

Stanford School of Medicine, Center of Excellence in Diversity in Medical Education (COEDME)

Student National Medical Association

University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

University of California Davis School of Medicine

University of California Riverside School of Medicine

University of Kentucky College of Medicine

University of New Mexico Health Sciences/School of Medicine 

University of Utah Health

Western Michigan University -Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine


2020-2021 Academic Medicine Writing Fellows



2021-2022 Journal Article Discussion

PREFAC Journal Article Discussion Webinars


Support Team 

2020 Support Team National Center for Pre-Faculty Development